IBERVILLE PARISH COUNCIL MINUTES BOARD OF REVIEW, TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 19, 2017

The Parish Council of Iberville Parish, State of Louisiana, met in Regular Session at the regular meeting place of the Parish Council, in the Council Meeting Room, 58050 Meriam Street, Plaquemine, Louisiana, on Tuesday, the 19th day of September, 2017.

The Council Chairman, Matthew H. Jewell, called the meeting to order at 6:10 p.m. followed by the roll call with the following Council Members in attendance: Warren Taylor, District 1; Thomas E. Dominique, Sr., District 3; Steve C. Smith District 5; Ty J. Arnold, District 7; Hunter S. Markins, District 8; Louis R. Kelley, Jr., District 10; Timothy J. Vallet, District 11; Matthew H. Jewell, District 12; Bart B. Morgan, District 13.

Absent: Mitchel J. Ourso, Sr.; District 2; Leonard Jackson, Sr., District 4; Courtney P. Lewis, District 6; Terry J. Bradford, District 9.

Councilwoman Lewis is now present.

A quorum was present and due notice had been posted and published in the Plaquemine Post South newspaper on the 14th day of September, 2017.

Assessor, Mr. Randy Sexton, Chief Administrative Officer, Mr. Edward Songy, and Parish President, J. Mitchell Ourso, Jr. were also in attendance.

Chairman Jewell stated the purpose of the meeting, was to sit as the "Board of Review" for Ad Valorem tax appeals to consider any appeals by Parish taxpayers received by the Parish Council.

The Council Clerk nor the Assessor reported receiving any protests.

Assessor Randy Sexton stated the open book period was from August 15, 2017 through August 29, 2017 for citizens to come in and inspect their taxes. There were no appeals for the assessed values for the tax year of 2017 during this open book period.

The taxable value of the 2017 roll is estimated at approximately \$572,147,130. The 2016 taxable value was approximately \$603,462,355 with a difference of approximately \$31,315,225. The overall decrease is about -5.19%, attributed to a decrease in Personal Property & Public Service. The tax roll was accepted as presented by the Iberville Parish Assessor and no changes were made.

No changes were ordered by the Board of Review. The floor was opened to comments and questions. There was no opposition from the public.

Upon a motion by Councilman Dominique, and seconded by Councilman Vallet, it was moved to accept the tax roll for the year 2017 as presented by the Assessor with no changes being made. The motion having been duly submitted to a vote was duly adopted by the following yea and nay votes on roll call:

YEAS: Taylor, Dominique, Jackson, Smith, Lewis, Arnold, Markins, Kelley, Vallet, Morgan.

NAYS: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Ourso, Jackson, Bradford.

The motion was declared adopted by the Chairman on the 19th day of September, 2017.

There being no further business to be conducted, the meeting was adjourned at 6:15 p.m.

/s/ KIRSHA D. BARKER COUNCIL CLERK /s/ MATTHEW H. JEWELL COUNCIL CHAIRMAN