## IBERVILLE PARISH COUNCIL MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING, JULY 30, 2018

The Parish Council of Iberville Parish, State of Louisiana, met in Special Session at the regular meeting place of the Parish Council, in the Council Meeting Room, 58050 Meriam Street, Plaquemine, Louisiana, on the 30<sup>th</sup> day of July, 2018. Pursuant to a Special Call by the Chairman that was posted on the Council Meeting Room door and Parish website on July 26, 2018.

The Council Chairman, Matthew H. Jewell, called the special meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Chairman Jewell requested a roll call with the following Council Members in attendance: Warren Taylor, District 1; Mitchel J. Ourso, Sr.; District 2; Thomas E. Dominique, Sr., District 3; Steve C. Smith, District 5; Ty J. Arnold, District 7; Hunter S. Markins, District 8; Terry J. Bradford, District 9; Timothy J. Vallet, District 11; Matthew H. Jewell, District 12.

Absent: Leonard Jackson, Sr., District 4; Courtney P. Lewis, District 6; Louis R. Kelley, Jr., District 10; Bart B. Morgan, District 13.

A quorum was present and due notice had been posted. The Pledge of Allegiance followed.

Finance Director, Randall Dunn, Human Resources Director, Charlene Siplin, and Chad Danos, representing Duplantis Group were also present.

Chairman Jewell stated the purpose of the Special Meeting is to go into Executive Session to review two applications for the future IPRD Director position, to make a recommendation to the Parish Administration.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Upon a motion by Councilman Vallet, and seconded by Councilman Arnold, it was moved to go into Executive Session. The motion having been duly submitted to a vote was duly adopted by the following yea and nay votes on roll call:

YEAS: Taylor, Ourso, Dominique, Smith, Arnold, Markins, Bradford, Vallet.

NAYS: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Jackson, Lewis, Kelley, Morgan.

The motion was declared adopted by the Chairman.

Upon a motion by Councilman Smith, and seconded by Councilman Dominique, it was moved to go out of Executive Session. The motion having been duly submitted to a vote was duly adopted by the following yea and nay votes on roll call:

YEAS: Taylor, Ourso, Dominique, Smith, Arnold, Markins, Bradford, Vallet.

NAYS: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Jackson, Lewis, Kelley, Morgan.

The motion was declared adopted by the Chairman.

Chairman Jewell stated the two applications that were presented and reviewed in the Executive Session were for Dwayne Boudreaux and Barry Riley. The Council discussed and reviewed the two applications for the future IPRD Director position, and are ready to make a recommendation in the form of a motion to the Parish Administration.

## MOTION TO RECOMMEND DWAYNE BOUDREAUX FOR THE FUTURE IPRD DIRECTOR POSITION TO PARISH ADMINISTRATION

Upon a substitute motion by Councilman Dominique, and seconded by Councilman Arnold, it was motioned to recommend Barry Riley for the future IPRD Director position to Parish Administration. The motion having been duly submitted to a vote was duly adopted by the following yea and nay votes on roll call:

YEAS: Ourso, Dominique, Arnold.

NAYS: Taylor, Smith, Markins, Bradford, Vallet.

ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Jackson, Lewis, Kelley, Morgan.

The substitution motion failed.

Councilman Vallet qualified his vote stating it is very tough to vote on a candidate without meeting them.

Upon the original motion by Councilman Taylor, and seconded by Councilman Smith, it was motioned to recommend Dwayne Boudreaux for the future IPRD Director position to Parish Administration. The motion having been duly submitted to a vote was duly adopted by the following yea and nay votes on roll call:

YEAS: Taylor, Ourso, Smith, Markins, Bradford, Vallet.

NAYS: Dominique, Arnold.

ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Jackson, Lewis, Kelley, Morgan.

The original motion was declared adopted by the Chairman on the 30<sup>th</sup> day of July, 2018.

Councilman Smith qualified his vote stating he voted for Mr. Boudreaux based solely on Mr. Dunn's recommendation.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business, it was moved by the Councilman Vallet, and seconded by the Council to adjourn at 7:09 p.m.

/s/ KIRSHA D. BARKER COUNCIL CLERK

The motion was unanimously adopted.

/s/ MATTHEW H. JEWELL COUNCIL CHAIRMAN