IBERVILLE PARISH COUNCIL MINUTES REGULAR MEETING, TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 13, 2022

The Parish Council of Iberville Parish, State of Louisiana, met in Regular Session, in the Council Meeting Room, 2nd Floor, Courthouse Building, 58050 Meriam Street, Plaquemine, Louisiana, on the 13th day of September, 2022.

The Council Chairman, Matthew H. Jewell, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. followed by the roll call with the following Council Members in attendance: Shalanda L. Allen, District 1; Thomas E. Dominique, Sr., District 3; Leonard Jackson, Sr., District 4; Steve C. Smith District 5; Raheem T. Pierce, District 6; Ty J. Arnold, District 7; Hunter S. Markins, District 8; Louis R. Kelley, Jr., District 10; Matthew H. Jewell, District 12.

Absent: Easley, Bradford, Vallet, Morgan.

Councilwoman Easley was present after roll call.

A quorum was present and due notice had been posted. The Pledge of Allegiance followed.

Council Chairman Jewell called for anyone wanting to make public comments to register with the Clerk. No one registered to speak.

NEW BUSINESS

A) Appointment of the new Council Clerk for Iberville Parish

The 4 applicants stepped out of the room until it was their turn to appear before the Council.

Ms. Macy Williamson came before the Council to introduce herself. Ms. Macy Williamson reviewed her background, experience, and qualifications. Councilwoman Allen asked if she could adapt to challenges as they come up. Councilman Dominique asked if she thought the previous clerk would be able to aid in learning the job. Councilman Smith asked about her degree specialty and her ability to resolve issues. Councilman Arnold asked how she felt about working by herself without direct supervision. Councilman Markins asked her to go through her daily routine at her current job. She thanked the Council for their time and consideration. There were no further questions.

Mrs. Deandria Johnson came before the Council to introduce herself. Mrs. Deandria Johnson reviewed her background, experience, and qualifications. Councilwoman Allen asked about her previous employment and experience. Councilman Dominique asked how she felt about working for the 13 different councilmembers. Councilman Smith asked how she handles problem resolutions and disagreements. Councilman Arnold asked her to explain her strongpoints and weaknesses. Councilman Markins asked her to explain her daily routine at her current job. She thanked the Council for their time and consideration. There were no further questions.

Mrs. Ashley Hebert came before the Council to introduce herself. Mrs. Ashley Hebert reviewed her background, experience, and qualifications. Councilwoman Allen asked if she would be able to adapt from her current job to the job of the council clerk. Councilwoman Easley asked if she could handle communicating with all 13 council members and the public. Councilman Jackson asked about her education background. Councilman Smith asked how she resolved issues and conflicts. Councilman Markins asked her to explain her daily routine at her current job. She thanked the Council for their time and consideration. There were no further questions.

Ms. Darylniece Tillman came before the Council to introduce herself. Ms. Darylniece Tillman reviewed her background, experience, and qualifications. Councilwoman Allen asked if she was familiar with the job and how her current job could help her in the clerk position. Councilwoman Easley asked if she could handle the workload and if she would be able to with all 13 council members. Councilman Smith asked how she handles conflicts and disagreements. He also asked why she wanted to leave her current job. Councilman Arnold asked how she felt about working for the 13 council members and working by herself without direct supervision. Councilman Markins asked her to explain her daily routine. She thanked the Council for their time and consideration. There were no further questions.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, it was moved by Councilman Smith, and seconded by Councilman Arnold, to adjourn. The motion was unanimously adopted.

/s/ MACY WILLIAMSON COUNCIL CLERK /s/ MATTHEW H. JEWELL COUNCIL CHAIRMAN